Schachfiguren gedrechselt mit Elfenbeinbesatz um 1900

21.05.2017 - 13.05.2018

Chess in Asia

a varied and beautiful world of chess

European and Asian chess presumably had common roots – but they went different ways. Chess in Asia surprises with a variety of board and figure types as well as rule variants. In Asia as well, Chess found its way into the coffee and tea houses, can be seen colourful living chess performances, with travelling professional gamblers and in private conviviality. Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful chess world.

Special Exhibitions

With financial support from the Halberstadt branch of the Sparkasse bank, the Ströbeck Chess Museum opened two new exhibition rooms, one of which was to be particularly reserved for special exhibitions, on 17th May 2009. With regularly changing exhibitions on a variety of topics, the museum can examine the history of chess and, of course, the history of chess in Ströbeck, in much more detail as new discoveries are constantly being made.
Chess Customs Museum

17.05.2015 - 15.05.2016

Chess Fever in the Coffee House

Since the 17th century, coffee houses have been a popular meeting place for people from the worlds of culture, society and politics, with conversations being held, business dealings being made and games being played. Frequenting coffee houses is, therefore, how regular people, primarily in England and France, were able to access chess. Eventually, by the 19th century, the game was incredibly popular in all coffee houses across Europe. The exhibition gave special insight into the pulsating world of chess in coffee houses, where champions and novices met with interested onlookers watching over their shoulders.

18.05.2014 - 30.04.2015

The Jester on the Chessboard

Humour in chess is as diverse as the game itself and begins with the names of the pieces. For example, the ‘bishop’ is called ‘le fou’ (the jester) in France. From caricatures, poems, political satire to everyday scenes from the world of chess and witty chess matches to play through, this exhibition presented chess players’ diverse senses of humour. A particularly special treat was the 1925 Russian film Chess Fever.

08.09.2013 - 30.04.2014

Chess Legends

Ströbeck belongs to a network of eleven Cultural Villages of Europe, spanning eleven European countries. This special exhibition presented famous chess masters from three of these nations… people who have become chess icons in their homelands. 09.09.2013 - 13.11.2013 Emanuel Lasker (24.12.1868 - 1.1.1941 | Germany) was the second official world chess champion and, until now, the only German to hold the title. This was a title he held for 27 years (1894 – 1921), which is longer than any other person has held it. 16.11.2013 - 12.02.2014 Max Euwe (20.5.1901 - 26.11.1981 | Netherlands) was the fifth person to win the world chess championship, a title he held from 1935 to 1937 and was president of FIDE, the world chess federation, from 1970 to 1978. He sparked an enormous enthusiasm for chess in his home country. Numerous Dutch chess teams were founded in 1935. 15.02.2014 - 30.04.2014 Paul Keres (7.1.1916 - 5.6.1975 | Estonia) was one of the best players of the 20th century. He never won a world championship but set a record during his run in that he won matches against nine titleholders from Capablanca to Fischer. His image featured on the Estonian five-kroon note and Paul Keres memorial tournaments still take place today in Estonia and Canada.

20.05.2012 - 30.08.2013

The ‘Other’ Chess – the History of

Chess Variants

This exhibition was hot on the heels of different varieties of chess developed since the game’s inception and tried to shed a little light on their origins. Chess players experimented with different shaped boards, different figures and how they move, different line-ups and rules of play. The biggest motivation for this throughout history has always been to expand the possibilities by increasing the difficulty level and, with it, to challenge understanding. Plus, on 30th November 2012, we received a replica of the courier chessboard depicted in the Lucas van Leyden painting for our exhibition. The board was provided by the Austrian company Brettspielprofi GesBR.

15.05.2011 - 30.04.2012

Ströbeck, Village of Chess -

From Yesterday to Today

In 2011, Ströbeck celebrated “1,000 years of chess”. To mark the event, the Chess Museum arranged a series of readings and a special exhibition. Houses, parks and people featured in old illustrations and photographs were displayed alongside images from today in order to demonstrate just how Ströbeck has changed through time.

16.05.2010 - 30.04.2011

Games and Gambling in the 18th Century

A special “Sachsen-Anhalt and the 18th Century” exhibition as part of the “Human Images” topic for the year This exhibition showed how society viewed itself by means of the daily practice of playing. At the beginning of the century, children did not ‘play’ as such, as any ‘game’ they were involved in was intended to prepare them for the challenges they would face in society later in life. Only as education developed did people start to understand the true nature of children, including their right to enjoy free, informal play. For adults, knowing the rules to certain games was just part of daily life. The aristocracy, in particular, identified themselves as gamblers as they often carelessly squandered substantial sums of money. The bourgeoisie, however, created a kind of balance by promoting the values of sensibility and thrift and saw their standing in parlour games as one which didn’t require money or utensils to succeed. They valued skill much more highly.

04.09.2010 - 07.11.2010

Village Portraits - The People are the

Village

A photographic exhibition of the Ströbeck Chess Museum in the Halberstadt Urban Museum. Thirteen photographers from England, France, Belgium, the Netherlands and the Czech Republic. When the Dutch village of Wijk aan Zee declared itself a European Cultural Village in 1999, two events were arranged – one which featured ten visits from villages that would later belong to the “Cultural Villages of Europe” network, to which Ströbeck also belongs, and another encompassing ten other projects for amateur and professional film makers, thinkers, youths, seniors, sculptors, musicians, as well as for village experts, playwrights and photographers. The project for photographers was a competition called “Village Portraits“. The brief was: “Portray a village through the medium of the people who live there.” Some of the photographs entered in this competition were displayed as part of this exhibition.

17.05.2009 - 26.02.2010

“They play with simplicity and honour”

A special “Sachsen-Anhalt and the 18th Century” exhibition as part of the “Day-to-Day Worlds” topic for the year In the 18th century, the international chess world made efforts to perfect and professionalise the game, and the game was the subject of much scientific and philosophical discussion. The chess world didn’t always look favourably on the headstrong village of Ströbeck, as the inhabitants insisted on playing chess by their own rules. The exhibition showed the conflict areas between the developmental tendencies in the 18th century chess scene and the contrary and unique method of playing in Ströbeck.
Deutsch MAP

22.05.2016 - 14.05.2017

Caissas Sisters - Women and Chess 

Insofar as it was a form of entertainment and an opportunity for the sexes to meet informally, women playing chess had a firm place in literature and art until the late 18th century. However, women had been excluded from the scientific development of chess and the most prominent locations where chess was played by the elite, such as the coffee houses. With the emancipation movement at the end of the 19th century, women were both able to gain access to knowledge and live life how they wanted to and, so, returned to the world of chess.
Foto: Ian Cook
Schachfiguren gedrechselt mit Elfenbeinbesatz um 1900

Special Exhibitions

With financial support from the Halberstadt branch of the Sparkasse bank, the Ströbeck Chess Museum opened two new exhibition rooms, one of which was to be particularly reserved for special exhibitions, on 17th May 2009. With regularly changing exhibitions on a variety of topics, the museum can examine the history of chess and, of course, the history of chess in Ströbeck, in much more detail as new discoveries are constantly being made.
MENU

21.05.2017 - 13.05.2018

Chess in Asia

a varied and beautiful world of chess

European and Asian chess presumably had common roots – but they went different ways. Chess in Asia surprises with a variety of board and figure types as well as rule variants. In Asia as well, Chess found its way into the coffee and tea houses, can be seen colourful living chess performances, with travelling professional gamblers and in private conviviality. Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful chess world.

17.05.2015 - 15.05.2016

Chess Fever in the Coffee House

Since the 17th century, coffee houses have been a popular meeting place for people from the worlds of culture, society and politics, with conversations being held, business dealings being made and games being played. Frequenting coffee houses is, therefore, how regular people, primarily in England and France, were able to access chess. Eventually, by the 19th century, the game was incredibly popular in all coffee houses across Europe. The exhibition gave special insight into the pulsating world of chess in coffee houses, where champions and novices met with interested onlookers watching over their shoulders.

18.05.2014 - 30.04.2015

The Jester on the Chessboard

Humour in chess is as diverse as the game itself and begins with the names of the pieces. For example, the ‘bishop’ is called ‘le fou’ (the jester) in France. From caricatures, poems, political satire to everyday scenes from the world of chess and witty chess matches to play through, this exhibition presented chess players’ diverse senses of humour. A particularly special treat was the 1925 Russian film Chess Fever.

08.09.2013 - 30.04.2014

Chess Legends

Ströbeck belongs to a network of eleven Cultural Villages of Europe, spanning eleven European countries. This special exhibition presented famous chess masters from three of these nations… people who have become chess icons in their homelands. 09.09.2013 - 13.11.2013 Emanuel Lasker (24.12.1868 - 1.1.1941 | Germany) was the second official world chess champion and, until now, the only German to hold the title. This was a title he held for 27 years (1894 – 1921), which is longer than any other person has held it. 16.11.2013 - 12.02.2014 Max Euwe (20.5.1901 - 26.11.1981 | Netherlands) was the fifth person to win the world chess championship, a title he held from 1935 to 1937 and was president of FIDE, the world chess federation, from 1970 to 1978. He sparked an enormous enthusiasm for chess in his home country. Numerous Dutch chess teams were founded in 1935. 15.02.2014 - 30.04.2014 Paul Keres (7.1.1916 - 5.6.1975 | Estonia) was one of the best players of the 20th century. He never won a world championship but set a record during his run in that he won matches against nine titleholders from Capablanca to Fischer. His image featured on the Estonian five-kroon note and Paul Keres memorial tournaments still take place today in Estonia and Canada.

20.05.2012 - 30.08.2013

The ‘Other’ Chess – the History of

Chess Variants

This exhibition was hot on the heels of different varieties of chess developed since the game’s inception and tried to shed a little light on their origins. Chess players experimented with different shaped boards, different figures and how they move, different line-ups and rules of play. The biggest motivation for this throughout history has always been to expand the possibilities by increasing the difficulty level and, with it, to challenge understanding. Plus, on 30th November 2012, we received a replica of the courier chessboard depicted in the Lucas van Leyden painting for our exhibition. The board was provided by the Austrian company Brettspielprofi GesBR.

15.05.2011 - 30.04.2012

Ströbeck, Village of Chess -

From Yesterday to Today

In 2011, Ströbeck celebrated “1,000 years of chess”. To mark the event, the Chess Museum arranged a series of readings and a special exhibition. Houses, parks and people featured in old illustrations and photographs were displayed alongside images from today in order to demonstrate just how Ströbeck has changed through time.

16.05.2010 - 30.04.2011

Games and Gambling in the 18th Century

A special “Sachsen-Anhalt and the 18th Century” exhibition as part of the “Human Images” topic for the year This exhibition showed how society viewed itself by means of the daily practice of playing. At the beginning of the century, children did not ‘play’ as such, as any ‘game’ they were involved in was intended to prepare them for the challenges they would face in society later in life. Only as education developed did people start to understand the true nature of children, including their right to enjoy free, informal play. For adults, knowing the rules to certain games was just part of daily life. The aristocracy, in particular, identified themselves as gamblers as they often carelessly squandered substantial sums of money. The bourgeoisie, however, created a kind of balance by promoting the values of sensibility and thrift and saw their standing in parlour games as one which didn’t require money or utensils to succeed. They valued skill much more highly.

04.09.2010 - 07.11.2010

Village Portraits - The People are the

Village

A photographic exhibition of the Ströbeck Chess Museum in the Halberstadt Urban Museum. Thirteen photographers from England, France, Belgium, the Netherlands and the Czech Republic. When the Dutch village of Wijk aan Zee declared itself a European Cultural Village in 1999, two events were arranged – one which featured ten visits from villages that would later belong to the “Cultural Villages of Europe” network, to which Ströbeck also belongs, and another encompassing ten other projects for amateur and professional film makers, thinkers, youths, seniors, sculptors, musicians, as well as for village experts, playwrights and photographers. The project for photographers was a competition called “Village Portraits“. The brief was: “Portray a village through the medium of the people who live there.” Some of the photographs entered in this competition were displayed as part of this exhibition.

17.05.2009 - 26.02.2010

“They play with simplicity and honour”

A special “Sachsen-Anhalt and the 18th Century” exhibition as part of the “Day-to-Day Worlds” topic for the year In the 18th century, the international chess world made efforts to perfect and professionalise the game, and the game was the subject of much scientific and philosophical discussion. The chess world didn’t always look favourably on the headstrong village of Ströbeck, as the inhabitants insisted on playing chess by their own rules. The exhibition showed the conflict areas between the developmental tendencies in the 18th century chess scene and the contrary and unique method of playing in Ströbeck.
MAP Deutsch Foto: Ian Cook

22.05.2016 - 14.05.2017

Caissas Sisters - Women and Chess 

Insofar as it was a form of entertainment and an opportunity for the sexes to meet informally, women playing chess had a firm place in literature and art until the late 18th century. However, women had been excluded from the scientific development of chess and the most prominent locations where chess was played by the elite, such as the coffee houses. With the emancipation movement at the end of the 19th century, women were both able to gain access to knowledge and live life how they wanted to and, so, returned to the world of chess.

Schachfiguren gedrechselt mit Elfenbeinbesatz um 1900

22.05.2016 - 14.05.2017

Caissas Schwestern - Frauen und Schach 

Schach spielende Frauen hatten in der Literatur und Kunst bis in das späte 18. Jh. einen festen Platz, solange das Schachspiel als Unterhaltungsform und als Möglichkeit der zwanglosen Begegnung der Geschlechter galt. Jedoch wurden die Frauen seit Ende des 16. Jh. von der wissenschaftlichen Entwicklung des Schachs und den wichtigen Spielstätten der Schachelite, wie den Kaffeehäusern, ausgeschlossen. Mit der Emanzipationsbewegung Ende des 19. Jh. verschafften sie sich Zutritt zur Wissenschaft und dem öffentlichen Leben und kehrten in die Schachwelt zurück.

Sonderausstellungen

Mit Unterstützung der Stiftung der Kreissparkasse Halberstadt eröffnete das Schachmuseum Ströbeck am 17.05.2009 zwei neue Ausstellungsräume. Dazu gehört auch der Raum für Sonderaustellungen. So kann das Museum mit wechselnden Ausstellungen die Schachgeschichte, und natürlich ganz besonders die Ströbecker Schachgeschichte, mit verschiedenen Themen tiefer beleuchten und immer wieder neu entdecken.
Schachtradition Museum TEILEN 

17.05.2015 - 15.05.2016

Schachfieber im Kaffeehaus

Kaffeehäuser waren seit dem 17. Jh. ein beliebter Begegnungs- ort von Menschen aus der Kultur, Gesellschaft und Politik. Es wurde diskutiert, Geschäfte gemacht und gespielt. So regte sich das bürgerliche Schachleben zuerst in Englands und Frankreichs Kaffeehäusern. Im Laufe des 19. Jh. schließlich wurde es ausgesprochen populär in allen Kaffeehäusern Europas. Die Ausstellung gibt einen Einblick in die pulsierende Schachwelt der Kaffeehäuser, wo sich Meister und Amateure trafen und Kiebitze ihnen über die Schultern sahen.

18.05.2014 - 30.04.2015

Der Narr auf dem Schachfeld

Der Humor im Schach ist so vielseitig wie das Spiel und beginnt bereits bei der Bezeichung der Figuren. So ist zum Beispiel der "Läufer" in Frankreich der "Fou", der "Narr". Von Karikaturen, Gedichten, politischer Satire bis zu Alltagsszenen des Schach- lebens und geistreichen Schachpartien zum nachspielen präsentierte die Ausstellung die Vielfalt des Schachspieler- humors. Ein besonderes Bonbon war der russische Film "Schachfieber" von 1925.

08.09.2013 - 30.04.2014

Schachlegenden

Das Schachdorf Ströbeck gehört zum Netzwerk der Kulturellen Dörfer Europas, dass aus elf Dörfern aus elf europäischen Ländern besteht. Mit der Sonderausstellung stellte das Schach- museum aus drei dieser Länder berühmte Schachmeister vor, die zu Schachikonen ihren Nationen wurden. 09.09.2013 - 13.11.2013 Emanuel Lasker (24.12.1868 - 1.1.1941 | Deutschland) war der zweite offizielle und zugleich der bislang einzige deutsche Schachweltmeister. Er behauptete diese Position über einen Zeitraum von 27 Jahren (1894 bis 1921) und war damit länger als jeder andere Träger dieses Titels. 16.11.2013 - 12.02.2014 Max Euwe (20.5.1901 - 26.11.1981 | Niederlande) war von 1935 bis 1937 fünfter Schachweltmeister und 1970 bis 1978 Präsident des Weltschachbundes FIDE. In seiner Heimat löste er eine enorme Schachbegeisterung aus. Viele niederländische Schachvereine haben das Gründungsjahr 1935. 15.02.2014 - 30.04.2014 Paul Keres (7.1.1916 - 5.6.1975 | Estland) war einer der stärksten Spieler des 20. Jh. Er errang nie den Titel eines Weltmeisters, stellte aber einen Rekord dadurch auf, dass er Partien gegen neun Titelinhaber (von Capablanca bis Fischer) gewann. Sein Porträt zierte den estnischen 5 Kronenschein und noch heute finden Keres Gedenkturniere in Estland und Kanada statt.

20.05.2012 - 30.08.2013

Das andere Schach - Geschichte der

Schachvarianten

Die Ausstellung begab sich auf Spurensuche nach den Varianten des Schachs seit seiner Entstehung und versuchte ein wenig Licht in die Hintergründe zu werfen. Die Schach- spieler experimentierten mit unterschiedlichen Brettformen, Schachfiguren und ihren Zugweisen, Grundaufstellungen und Spielregeln. Das stärkste Motiv bis in unsere Zeit war dabei immer wieder die Erweiterung der Möglichkeiten und die Erhöhung des Schwierigkeitsgrades und damit die Herausforderung für den Verstand. Am 30. November 2012 erhielten wir aus Österreich von der Firma Brettspielprofi GesBR einen Nachbau des Kurierschach- spiels von dem Lucas van Leyden Gemälde für unsere Ausstellung.

15.05.2011 - 30.04.2012

Schachdorf Ströbeck - gestern und heute

Das Schachdorf Ströbeck feierte 2011 sein Jubiläum "1000 Jahre Schach". Zu diesem Anlass veranstaltete das Schachmuseum eine Lesereihe und diese Sonderausstellung. Häuser, Parks und Menschen auf alten Zeichnungen und Fotos wurden Aufnahmen von heute gegenübergestellt und das Schachdorf Ströbeck im Wandel gezeigt.

16.05.2010 - 30.04.2011

Der spielende Mensch im 18. Jh.

Eine Sonderausstellung im Rahmen der Initiative "Sachsen-Anhalt und das 18. Jahrhundert" zum Themenjahr "Menschenbilder" Die Ausstellung zeigte, wie sich die Gesellschaft anhand der alltäglichen Praxis des Spiels selbst betrachtet hat. Das spielende Kind wurde zu Beginn des Jahrhunderts gar nicht wahrgenommen. Jegliches erlaubte Spiel bereitete lediglich auf die späteren Anforderungen gesellschaftlichen Lebens vor. Erst mit der Entwicklung der Pädagogik entstand das Bild von der Natur des Kindes, zu der auch das Recht auf freies, zwangloses Spiel gehörte. Zum gesellschaftlichen Leben der Erwachsenen gehörte es, die Regeln bestimmter Spiele zu kennen. Der Adel definierte sich insbesondere durch das Glücksspiel und verspielte rücksichts- los ganze Vermögen. Das Bürgertum setzte die Tugenden der Vernunft und Sparsamkeit dagegen und sah das Bild ihres Standes im Gesellschaftsspiel vertreten, welches weder Geld noch Spielutensilien benötigte dafür aber Geschick.

04.09.2010 - 07.11.2010

Dorfporträts - Die Menschen prägen

das Dorf

Eine Fotoausstellung des Schachmuseums Ströbeck im Städtischen Museum Halberstadt. 13 Fotografen aus England, Frankreich, Belgien, den Niederlanden und Tschechien. Als das niederländische Dorf Wijk aan Zee sich für 1999 selbst zum Kulturdorf Europas erklärte, organisierte das Dorf zwei Arten von Veranstaltungen. Zehn Besuche aus Dörfern des späteren Netzwerkes „Kulturdörfer Europas“ (zu denen auch das Schachdorf Ströbeck gehört) und zehn andere Projekte für Amateur- und professionelle Filmemacher, Denker, Jugend, Senioren, Bildhauer, Musiker, für Dorfexperten, für Theater und Oper und für Fotografen. Das Projekt der Fotografen war ein Wettbewerb „Dorfporträts“. Die Anweisung war: “Porträtiert ein Dorf anhand der Menschen, die dort leben.” Einen Teil der Wettbewerbsfotos konnte man in dieser Ausstellung sehen.

17.05.2009 - 26.02.2010

“Sie spielen mit Einfalt und Würde”

Eine Sonderausstellung im Rahmen der Initiative "Sachsen-Anhalt und das 18. Jahrhundert" zum Themenjahr "Alltagswelten" Im 18 Jh. bemühte sich die internationale Schachwelt, das Schachspiel zu perfektionieren und zu professionalisieren. Man setzte sich wissenschaftlich und philosophisch mit dem Spiel auseinander. Da fiel der Blick der Schachwelt nicht immer freundlich auf das eigenwillige Schachdorf Ströbeck, das beharrlich nach seinen eigenen alten Regeln spielte. Die Ausstellung zeigte das Spannungsfeld zwischen den Entwicklungstendenzen in der Schachwelt im 18. Jh. und der entgegengesetzten eigensinnigen Spielweise der Ströbecker.
English
Foto: Ian Cook
Ströbecker Schachtradition  seit 2016
Schachfiguren gedrechselt mit Elfenbeinbesatz um 1900

Sonderausstellungen

Mit Unterstützung der Stiftung der Kreissparkasse Halberstadt  eröffnete das Schachmuseum Ströbeck am 17.05.2009 zwei neue Ausstellungsräume. Dazu gehört auch der Raum für Sonderaustellungen. So kann das Museum mit wechselnden Ausstellungen die Schachgeschichte, und natürlich ganz besonders die Ströbecker Schachgeschichte, mit verschiedenen Themen tiefer beleuchten und immer wieder neu entdecken.
MENÜ TEILEN 

22.05.2016 - 14.05.2017

Caissas Schwestern - Frauen und Schach 

Schach spielende Frauen hatten in der Literatur und Kunst bis in das späte 18. Jh. einen festen Platz, solange das Schachspiel als Unterhaltungsform und als Möglichkeit der zwanglosen Begegnung der Geschlechter galt. Jedoch wurden die Frauen seit Ende des 16. Jh. von der wissenschaftlichen Entwicklung des Schachs und den wichtigen Spielstätten der Schachelite, wie den Kaffeehäusern, ausgeschlossen. Mit der Emanzipationsbewegung Ende des 19. Jh. verschafften sie sich Zutritt zur Wissenschaft und dem öffentlichen Leben und kehrten in die Schachwelt zurück.

17.05.2015 - 15.05.2016

Schachfieber im Kaffeehaus

Kaffeehäuser waren seit dem 17. Jh. ein beliebter Begegnungs- ort von Menschen aus der Kultur, Gesellschaft und Politik. Es wurde diskutiert, Geschäfte gemacht und gespielt. So regte sich das bürgerliche Schachleben zuerst in Englands und Frankreichs Kaffeehäusern. Im Laufe des 19. Jh. schließlich wurde es ausgesprochen populär in allen Kaffeehäusern Europas. Die Ausstellung gibt einen Einblick in die pulsierende Schachwelt der Kaffeehäuser, wo sich Meister und Amateure trafen und Kiebitze ihnen über die Schultern sahen.

18.05.2014 - 30.04.2015

Der Narr auf dem Schachfeld

Der Humor im Schach ist so vielseitig wie das Spiel und beginnt bereits bei der Bezeichung der Figuren. So ist zum Beispiel der "Läufer" in Frankreich der "Fou", der "Narr". Von Karikaturen, Gedichten, politischer Satire bis zu Alltagsszenen des Schach- lebens und geistreichen Schachpartien zum nachspielen präsentierte die Ausstellung die Vielfalt des Schachspieler- humors. Ein besonderes Bonbon war der russische Film "Schachfieber" von 1925.

08.09.2013 - 30.04.2014

Schachlegenden

Das Schachdorf Ströbeck gehört zum Netzwerk der Kulturellen Dörfer Europas, dass aus elf Dörfern aus elf europäischen Ländern besteht. Mit der Sonderausstellung stellte das Schach- museum aus drei dieser Länder berühmte Schachmeister vor, die zu Schachikonen ihren Nationen wurden. 09.09.2013 - 13.11.2013 Emanuel Lasker (24.12.1868 - 1.1.1941 | Deutschland) war der zweite offizielle und zugleich der bislang einzige deutsche Schachweltmeister. Er behauptete diese Position über einen Zeitraum von 27 Jahren (1894 bis 1921) und war damit länger als jeder andere Träger dieses Titels. 16.11.2013 - 12.02.2014 Max Euwe (20.5.1901 - 26.11.1981 | Niederlande) war von 1935 bis 1937 fünfter Schachweltmeister und 1970 bis 1978 Präsident des Weltschachbundes FIDE. In seiner Heimat löste er eine enorme Schachbegeisterung aus. Viele niederländische Schachvereine haben das Gründungsjahr 1935. 15.02.2014 - 30.04.2014 Paul Keres (7.1.1916 - 5.6.1975 | Estland) war einer der stärksten Spieler des 20. Jh. Er errang nie den Titel eines Weltmeisters, stellte aber einen Rekord dadurch auf, dass er Partien gegen neun Titelinhaber (von Capablanca bis Fischer) gewann. Sein Porträt zierte den estnischen 5 Kronenschein und noch heute finden Keres Gedenkturniere in Estland und Kanada statt.

20.05.2012 - 30.08.2013

Das andere Schach - Geschichte der

Schachvarianten

Die Ausstellung begab sich auf Spurensuche nach den Varianten des Schachs seit seiner Entstehung und versuchte ein wenig Licht in die Hintergründe zu werfen. Die Schach- spieler experimentierten mit unterschiedlichen Brettformen, Schachfiguren und ihren Zugweisen, Grundaufstellungen und Spielregeln. Das stärkste Motiv bis in unsere Zeit war dabei immer wieder die Erweiterung der Möglichkeiten und die Erhöhung des Schwierigkeitsgrades und damit die Herausforderung für den Verstand. Am 30. November 2012 erhielten wir aus Österreich von der Firma Brettspielprofi GesBR einen Nachbau des Kurierschach- spiels von dem Lucas van Leyden Gemälde für unsere Ausstellung.

15.05.2011 - 30.04.2012

Schachdorf Ströbeck - gestern und heute

Das Schachdorf Ströbeck feierte 2011 sein Jubiläum "1000 Jahre Schach". Zu diesem Anlass veranstaltete das Schachmuseum eine Lesereihe und diese Sonderausstellung. Häuser, Parks und Menschen auf alten Zeichnungen und Fotos wurden Aufnahmen von heute gegenübergestellt und das Schachdorf Ströbeck im Wandel gezeigt.

16.05.2010 - 30.04.2011

Der spielende Mensch im 18. Jh.

Eine Sonderausstellung im Rahmen der Initiative "Sachsen-Anhalt und das 18. Jahrhundert" zum Themenjahr "Menschenbilder" Die Ausstellung zeigte, wie sich die Gesellschaft anhand der alltäglichen Praxis des Spiels selbst betrachtet hat. Das spielende Kind wurde zu Beginn des Jahrhunderts gar nicht wahrgenommen. Jegliches erlaubte Spiel bereitete lediglich auf die späteren Anforderungen gesellschaftlichen Lebens vor. Erst mit der Entwicklung der Pädagogik entstand das Bild von der Natur des Kindes, zu der auch das Recht auf freies, zwangloses Spiel gehörte. Zum gesellschaftlichen Leben der Erwachsenen gehörte es, die Regeln bestimmter Spiele zu kennen. Der Adel definierte sich insbesondere durch das Glücksspiel und verspielte rücksichts- los ganze Vermögen. Das Bürgertum setzte die Tugenden der Vernunft und Sparsamkeit dagegen und sah das Bild ihres Standes im Gesellschaftsspiel vertreten, welches weder Geld noch Spielutensilien benötigte dafür aber Geschick.

04.09.2010 - 07.11.2010

Dorfporträts - Die Menschen prägen

das Dorf

Eine Fotoausstellung des Schachmuseums Ströbeck im Städtischen Museum Halberstadt. 13 Fotografen aus England, Frankreich, Belgien, den Niederlanden und Tschechien. Als das niederländische Dorf Wijk aan Zee sich für 1999 selbst zum Kulturdorf Europas erklärte, organisierte das Dorf zwei Arten von Veranstaltungen. Zehn Besuche aus Dörfern des späteren Netzwerkes „Kulturdörfer Europas“ (zu denen auch das Schachdorf Ströbeck gehört) und zehn andere Projekte für Amateur- und professionelle Filmemacher, Denker, Jugend, Senioren, Bildhauer, Musiker, für Dorfexperten, für Theater und Oper und für Fotografen. Das Projekt der Fotografen war ein Wettbewerb „Dorfporträts“. Die Anweisung war: “Porträtiert ein Dorf anhand der Menschen, die dort leben.” Einen Teil der Wettbewerbsfotos konnte man in dieser Ausstellung sehen.

17.05.2009 - 26.02.2010

“Sie spielen mit Einfalt und Würde”

Eine Sonderausstellung im Rahmen der Initiative "Sachsen-Anhalt und das 18. Jahrhundert" zum Themenjahr "Alltagswelten" Im 18 Jh. bemühte sich die internationale Schachwelt, das Schachspiel zu perfektionieren und zu professionalisieren. Man setzte sich wissenschaftlich und philosophisch mit dem Spiel auseinander. Da fiel der Blick der Schachwelt nicht immer freundlich auf das eigenwillige Schachdorf Ströbeck, das beharrlich nach seinen eigenen alten Regeln spielte. Die Ausstellung zeigte das Spannungsfeld zwischen den Entwicklungstendenzen in der Schachwelt im 18. Jh. und der entgegengesetzten eigensinnigen Spielweise der Ströbecker.
English Foto: Ian Cook Ströbecker Schachtradition  seit 2016