Lebendschach: die schwarzen Figuren Schachmusical: Szene mit Preußenkönig Friedrich II.

Homage Ritual

The practice of giving a silver chess set to the landgrave when he took office, ensuring that the villagers of Ströbeck would continue to receive their privileges, has endured since the Middle Ages. On his 1651 inspection tour, Great Elector Friedrich Wilhelm of Brandenburg thanked the villagers by gifting them a chess board with artistic inlay work and silver chessmen. The board can still be seen today in the Ströbeck Chess Museum, as can a letter from Wilhelm I, the Prussian king who eventually became the first German emperor, in which he thanks the village for the gift sent to mark his coronation in 1861.

Match Against Travellers

If a traveller ever stopped in Ströbeck, the village magistrate would challenge them to a game of chess. This also happened to Prussian king Friedrich II (Frederick the Great) in 1773 when, on a journey from Halberstadt to Goslar, he stopped in Ströbeck to change horses. It is reported that he won two games, but then complained about the manner in which the game was played in the village. The village magistrate’s retort was that he had won the first game because he was his King and the second because he was his guest. Now the real game could begin. The king lost the third game and is said to have ridden away angrily.
Hochzeitsbrauch 2007: Bürgermeister spielt gegen Bräutigam Schach Lebendschach: schwarzer König ergibt sich weißem Springer

Wedding Ritual

In the 17th century, young men had to play chess against the village magistrate before marrying their brides. If the groom lost, he would have to pay a fine into the municipal coffers. This tradition was reinstated in 2007 and future husbands have played for ‘permission’ to marry their bride ever since.

Living Chess

The game, introduced in 1688, with living chessmen in beautiful costumes, is still an attraction at the chess and village festivals. The living chess ensemble, a fine representation of Ströbeck, has made numerous appearances across Germany and the rest of Europe. » living chess ensemble website

Die Schachtradition

The villagers of Ströbeck have been maintaining their chess-playing traditions in many different ways for more than a thousand years and have developed many of their own customs related to the game. Homage Ritual | Match Against Travellers | Wedding Ritual | Living Chess | Chess at School | Chess Association | Chess Tournaments | Chess Festivals | Chess Musical | Chess Museum
altes Foto: Schüler im Schachunterricht niederländische Mannschaft beim Mai Schachturnier

Chess at School

Chess was introduced as an examined subject in the village school in the year 1823. Even today, it’s still a compulsory subject for pupils aged 8-10 at the Dr Emanuel Lasker primary school in Ströbeck. There is also an optional chess club. As an added incentive, a competition in which the prize is a special Ströbeck chess board with chessmen has been held since 1823. To mark each winner’s victory, chess symbols and the dates they won are drawn on the houses. Other annual traditional events are the Emanuel Lasker Memorial Tournament, held just before Christmas, which pupils can enter by themselves, and the Family Chess Competition held on the first Sunday of Advent, which pits teams of two; always comprising children aged 6-16 and a member of their family, against each other.

Chess Association

The Ströbeck Chess Association, founded in 1883, holds further extra-curricular chess competitions and tournaments, which are a constant feature of village life. There have even been chess conventions held in Ströbeck since 1885. The Association’s annual international May tournament doubles as Ströbeck’s village festival. The living chess ensemble makes an appearance and the pupils are awarded their winners’ chess sets. The German Sparkasse Chess Championship is held every second September and, in 2011, 2013 and 2015, the German Chess Federation’s International German Youth Chess Championships took place in Ströbeck.
Schachmusical: Szene mit Guncellin dem Schachlehrer von 1011 Schachfiguren als Wildtiere wie Hirsch, Hase und andere

Chess Musical

When Ströbeck hosted the » Cultural Villages of Europe in 2006, over 100 villagers and friends took part in the two-hour musical “Ströpker Zeitsprünge (Ströbeck leaps in time), which tells the story of the history of chess in the village. Even at the “1,000 years of chess” celebrations in 2011, countless villagers took part in the musical “Guncellin 2011 – So könnte es gewesen sein” (Guncellin 2011 – it could have been this way), which, again, recounted the history of chess up to the present day. The village brought in playwright Jürgen Westphal and composer Christoph Zwiener to write the pieces.  

Chess Museum

The Chess Museum contains a great deal of references to Ströbeck’s chess-playing traditions and the history of chess, such as the Great Elector’s board from 1651, costumes worn by the living chess ensemble and the 1861 letter from the King of Prussia. Also exhibited are the history of chess abroad, different versions of chess played by different peoples, chess-based art and unusual variants of the game for you to try out, as well as a variety of other special exhibitions that change annually.
Museum Musicalszene: Bischof von Halberstadt in Ströbeck Deutsch MAP Chess Customs
Lebendschach: die schwarzen Figuren Schachmusical: Szene mit Preußenkönig Friedrich II.

Homage Ritual

The practice of giving a silver chess set to the landgrave when he took office, ensuring that the villagers of Ströbeck would continue to receive their privileges, has endured since the Middle Ages. On his 1651 inspection tour, Great Elector Friedrich Wilhelm of Brandenburg thanked the villagers by gifting them a chess board with artistic inlay work and silver chessmen. The board can still be seen today in the Ströbeck Chess Museum, as can a letter from Wilhelm I, the Prussian king who eventually became the first German emperor, in which he thanks the village for the gift sent to mark his coronation in 1861.

Match Against Travellers

If a traveller ever stopped in Ströbeck, the village magistrate would challenge them to a game of chess. This also happened to Prussian king Friedrich II (Frederick the Great) in 1773 when, on a journey from Halberstadt to Goslar, he stopped in Ströbeck to change horses. It is reported that he won two games, but then complained about the manner in which the game was played in the village. The village magistrate’s retort was that he had won the first game because he was his King and the second because he was his guest. Now the real game could begin. The king lost the third game and is said to have ridden away angrily.
Hochzeitsbrauch 2007: Bürgermeister spielt gegen Bräutigam Schach Lebendschach: schwarzer König ergibt sich weißem Springer

Wedding Ritual

In the 17th century, young men had to play chess against the village magistrate before marrying their brides. If the groom lost, he would have to pay a fine into the municipal coffers. This tradition was reinstated in 2007 and future husbands have played for ‘permission’ to marry their bride ever since.

Living Chess

The game, introduced in 1688, with living chessmen in beautiful costumes, is still an attraction at the chess and village festivals. The living chess ensemble, a fine representation of Ströbeck, has made numerous appearances across Germany and the rest of Europe. » living chess ensemble website

Die Schachtradition

The villagers of Ströbeck have been maintaining their chess-playing traditions in many different ways for more than a thousand years and have developed many of their own customs related to the game. Homage Ritual | Match Against Travellers | Wedding Ritual | Living Chess | Chess at School | Chess Association | Chess Tournaments | Chess Festivals | Chess Musical | Chess Museum
altes Foto: Schüler im Schachunterricht niederländische Mannschaft beim Mai Schachturnier

Chess at School

Chess was introduced as an examined subject in the village school in the year 1823. Even today, it’s still a compulsory subject for pupils aged 8-10 at the Dr Emanuel Lasker primary school in Ströbeck. There is also an optional chess club. As an added incentive, a competition in which the prize is a special Ströbeck chess board with chessmen has been held since 1823. To mark each winner’s victory, chess symbols and the dates they won are drawn on the houses. Other annual traditional events are the Emanuel Lasker Memorial Tournament, held just before Christmas, which pupils can enter by themselves, and the Family Chess Competition held on the first Sunday of Advent, which pits teams of two; always comprising children aged 6-16 and a member of their family, against each other.

Chess Association

The Ströbeck Chess Association, founded in 1883, holds further extra-curricular chess competitions and tournaments, which are a constant feature of village life. There have even been chess conventions held in Ströbeck since 1885. The Association’s annual international May tournament doubles as Ströbeck’s village festival. The living chess ensemble makes an appearance and the pupils are awarded their winners’ chess sets. The German Sparkasse Chess Championship is held every second September and, in 2011, 2013 and 2015, the German Chess Federation’s International German Youth Chess Championships took place in Ströbeck.
Schachmusical: Szene mit Guncellin dem Schachlehrer von 1011 Schachfiguren als Wildtiere wie Hirsch, Hase und andere

Chess Musical

When Ströbeck hosted the » Cultural Villages of Europe in 2006, over 100 villagers and friends took part in the two-hour musical “Ströpker Zeitsprünge (Ströbeck leaps in time), which tells the story of the history of chess in the village. Even at the “1,000 years of chess” celebrations in 2011, countless villagers took part in the musical “Guncellin 2011 – So könnte es gewesen sein” (Guncellin 2011 – it could have been this way), which, again, recounted the history of chess up to the present day. The village brought in playwright Jürgen Westphal and composer Christoph Zwiener to write the pieces.  

Chess Museum

The Chess Museum contains a great deal of references to Ströbeck’s chess-playing traditions and the history of chess, such as the Great Elector’s board from 1651, costumes worn by the living chess ensemble and the 1861 letter from the King of Prussia. Also exhibited are the history of chess abroad, different versions of chess played by different peoples, chess-based art and unusual variants of the game for you to try out, as well as a variety of other special exhibitions that change annually.
Musicalszene: Bischof von Halberstadt in Ströbeck MENU MAP Deutsch

Lebendschach: die schwarzen Figuren Schachmusical: Szene mit Preußenkönig Friedrich II.

Huldigungsbrauch

Bereits im Mittelalter hatte sich die Sitte heraus- gebildet, dem Landesherren zum Regierungsantritt ein silbernes Schachspiel zu überreichen. Dafür blieben die Privilegien der Ströbecker erhalten. Der Große Kurfürst Friedrich Wilhelm von Brandenburg bedankte sich 1651 auf seiner Inspektionsreise, indem er dem Dorf ein Schachbrett mit kunstvollen Einlegearbeiten und silbernen Figuren schenkte. Das Brett kann noch heute im Ströbecker Schachmuseum besichtigt werden. Ebenso wie ein Brief des Preußenkönigs Wilhelm I. (später 1. Deutscher Kaiser) in dem er sich für das Huldigungsgeschenk anlässlich seiner Krönungs- feierlichkeiten 1861 bedankte.

Spiel mit Durchreisenden

Wenn ein Durchreisender in Ströbeck halt machte, wurde ihm eine Partie Schach gegen den Dorfschulzen angeboten. So auch dem Preußenkönig Friedrich II. (der Alte Fritz) 1773, der auf dem Wege nach Halberstadt nach Goslar im Schachdorf Ströbeck seine Pferde wechseln ließ. Es heißt, dass er zwei Partien gewann und über die Spielkunst der Ströbecker moserte. Da habe ihm der Dorfschulze geantwortet: Das erste Spiel habe er gewonnen, weil er sein König sei, das zweite weil er sein Gast sei und nun könne man richtig spielen. Die dritte Partie soll der König darauf verloren haben und wütend davon geritten sein.
Hochzeitsbrauch 2007: Bürgermeister spielt gegen Bräutigam Schach Lebendschach: schwarzer König ergibt sich weißem Springer

Hochzeitsbrauch

Im 17. Jh. musste ein junger Mann vor der Hochzeit seine Braut mit einer Partie Schach gegen den Dorfschulzen erspielen. Verlor der Bräutigam, musste er ein Strafgeld in die Gemeindekasse zahlen. Seit 2007 lebt der Brauch wieder auf und künftige Ehemänner spielen erneut um ihre Braut.

Lebendschach

Das 1688 eingeführte Spiel mit lebenden Figuren in schönen Kostümen ist bis heute eine Attraktion bei Schach- und Heimatfesten. Seit Mitte des 20. Jh. hat das Lebendschachensemble Auftritte in ganz Deutschland und Europa und repräsentiert das Schachdorf Ströbeck. » website des Lebendschachensembles

Die Schachtradition

Seit über 1000 Jahren pflegen die Ströbecker ihre Schachtradition in verschiedenster Weise und entwickelten vielfältige Bräuche um das Spiel. » Film: Ströbecker Schachtradition Huldigungsbrauch | Spiel mit Durchreisenden | Hochzeitsbrauch | Lebendschach | Schulschach | Schachverein | Schachturniere | Schachfeste | Schach Musical | Schachmuseum
altes Foto: Schüler im Schachunterricht niederländische Mannschaft beim Mai Schachturnier

Schulschach

1823 wurde Schach als Prüfungsfach in der Schule eingeführt. Auch heute ist es Pflichtfach von der 2. bis 4. Klasse in der Ströbecker Grundschule „Dr. Emanuel Lasker“. Zusätzlich wird eine Schach AG angeboten. Als weiteren Ansporn wird seit 1823 jährlich ein Wettstreit um ein spezielles Ströbecker Schach- brett  und Figuren ausgetragen. Schachsymbole an den Häusern mit Jahreszahlen zeugen von dem Stolz der Gewinner. Weitere jährliche Traditionsspiele sind das Emanuel-Lasker-Gedenkturnier“ in der Vorweihnachtszeit, an dem Schüler als Einzelkämpfer teilnehmen können, und das Familienschach“ am 1. Advent, an dem Kinder und Jugendliche der 1. bis 10. Klasse mit einem Familienmitglied antreten.

Schachverein

Durch den 1883 gegründeten » Ströbecker Schachverein entstanden weitere Schachwett- kämpfe und -turniere außerhalb der Schule und sind bis heute fester Bestandteil des Dorflebens. Auch Schachkongresse fanden seit 1885 in Ströbeck statt. Das jährliche internationale Mai-Turnier des Vereins ist ebenfalls das Heimatfest des Dorfes. Dazu tritt das Lebendschachensemble auf und die Schüler bekommen feierlich die Gewinnerbretter und -figuren überreicht. Alle zwei Jahre im September findet die Deutsche Sparkassen-Schachmeisterschaft statt und 2011, 2013 und 2015 wurde das Internationale Deutsche Jugendschachturnier des Deutschen Schach- bundes in Ströbeck ausgerichtet.
Schachmusical: Szene mit Guncellin dem Schachlehrer von 1011 Schachfiguren als Wildtiere wie Hirsch, Hase und andere

Schach Musical

Als Ströbeck 2006 Gastgeber für die » Kulturdörfer  Europas war, wirkten über 100 Ströbecker und Freunde in dem zweistündigen Musical „Ströpker Zeitsprünge“ mit, in dem die Ströbecker Schachgeschichte erzählt wurde. Auch im Jubiläumsjahr “1000 Jahre Schach” 2011 beteiligten sich wieder unzählige Ströbecker an dem Musical Guncellin 2011 – So könnte es gewesen sein“, das erneut die Schachgeschichte zum Gegenstand hatte. Für diese Theaterstücke beauftragte die Gemeinde den Autor Jürgen Westphal und den Komponisten Christoph Zwiener.

Schachmuseum

Im Schachmuseum werden viele Zeugnisse der Ströbecker Schachtradition und Schachgeschichte ausgestellt, wie das Kurfürstenbrett von 1651, Kostüme des Lebendschachensembles oder der Brief des Preußenkönigs von 1861. Gezeigt werden auch die internationale Schachgeschichte, unterschiedliche Schachspiele verschiedener Völker, Kunst und Schach, Schachvarianten zum Ausprobieren sowie jährlich wechselnde Sonderausstellungen.
Schachtradition Museum TEILEN  Musicalszene: Bischof von Halberstadt in Ströbeck English Ströbecker Schachtradition  seit 2016
Lebendschach: die schwarzen Figuren Schachmusical: Szene mit Preußenkönig Friedrich II.

Huldigungsbrauch

Bereits im Mittelalter hatte sich die Sitte heraus- gebildet, dem Landesherren zum Regierungsantritt ein silbernes Schachspiel zu überreichen. Dafür blieben die Privilegien der Ströbecker erhalten. Der Große Kurfürst Friedrich Wilhelm von Brandenburg bedankte sich 1651 auf seiner Inspektionsreise, indem er dem Dorf ein Schachbrett mit kunstvollen Einlegearbeiten und silbernen Figuren schenkte. Das Brett kann noch heute im Ströbecker Schachmuseum besichtigt werden. Ebenso wie ein Brief des Preußenkönigs Wilhelm I. (später 1. Deutscher Kaiser) in dem er sich für das Huldigungsgeschenk anlässlich seiner Krönungs- feierlichkeiten 1861 bedankte.

Spiel mit Durchreisenden

Wenn ein Durchreisender in Ströbeck halt machte, wurde ihm eine Partie Schach gegen den Dorfschulzen angeboten. So auch dem Preußenkönig Friedrich II. (der Alte Fritz) 1773, der auf dem Wege nach Halberstadt nach Goslar im Schachdorf Ströbeck seine Pferde wechseln ließ. Es heißt, dass er zwei Partien gewann und über die Spielkunst der Ströbecker moserte. Da habe ihm der Dorfschulze geantwortet: Das erste Spiel habe er gewonnen, weil er sein König sei, das zweite weil er sein Gast sei und nun könne man richtig spielen. Die dritte Partie soll der König darauf verloren haben und wütend davon geritten sein.
Hochzeitsbrauch 2007: Bürgermeister spielt gegen Bräutigam Schach Lebendschach: schwarzer König ergibt sich weißem Springer

Hochzeitsbrauch

Im 17. Jh. musste ein junger Mann vor der Hochzeit seine Braut mit einer Partie Schach gegen den Dorfschulzen erspielen. Verlor der Bräutigam, musste er ein Strafgeld in die Gemeindekasse zahlen. Seit 2007 lebt der Brauch wieder auf und künftige Ehemänner spielen erneut um ihre Braut.

Lebendschach

Das 1688 eingeführte Spiel mit lebenden Figuren in schönen Kostümen ist bis heute eine Attraktion bei Schach- und Heimatfesten. Seit Mitte des 20. Jh. hat das Lebendschachensemble Auftritte in ganz Deutschland und Europa und repräsentiert das Schachdorf Ströbeck. » website des Lebendschachensembles

Die Schachtradition

Seit über 1000 Jahren pflegen die Ströbecker ihre Schachtradition in verschiedenster Weise und entwickelten vielfältige Bräuche um das Spiel. » Film: Ströbecker Schachtradition Huldigungsbrauch | Spiel mit Durchreisenden | Hochzeitsbrauch | Lebendschach | Schulschach | Schachverein | Schachturniere | Schachfeste | Schach Musical | Schachmuseum
altes Foto: Schüler im Schachunterricht niederländische Mannschaft beim Mai Schachturnier

Schulschach

1823 wurde Schach als Prüfungsfach in der Schule eingeführt. Auch heute ist es Pflichtfach von der 2. bis 4. Klasse in der Ströbecker Grundschule „Dr. Emanuel Lasker“. Zusätzlich wird eine Schach AG angeboten. Als weiteren Ansporn wird seit 1823 jährlich ein Wettstreit um ein spezielles Ströbecker Schach- brett  und Figuren ausgetragen. Schachsymbole an den Häusern mit Jahreszahlen zeugen von dem Stolz der Gewinner. Weitere jährliche Traditionsspiele sind das Emanuel-Lasker-Gedenkturnier“ in der Vorweihnachtszeit, an dem Schüler als Einzelkämpfer teilnehmen können, und das Familienschach“ am 1. Advent, an dem Kinder und Jugendliche der 1. bis 10. Klasse mit einem Familienmitglied antreten.

Schachverein

Durch den 1883 gegründeten » Ströbecker Schachverein entstanden weitere Schachwett- kämpfe und -turniere außerhalb der Schule und sind bis heute fester Bestandteil des Dorflebens. Auch Schachkongresse fanden seit 1885 in Ströbeck statt. Das jährliche internationale Mai-Turnier des Vereins ist ebenfalls das Heimatfest des Dorfes. Dazu tritt das Lebendschachensemble auf und die Schüler bekommen feierlich die Gewinnerbretter und -figuren überreicht. Alle zwei Jahre im September findet die Deutsche Sparkassen-Schachmeisterschaft statt und 2011, 2013 und 2015 wurde das Internationale Deutsche Jugendschachturnier des Deutschen Schach- bundes in Ströbeck ausgerichtet.
Schachmusical: Szene mit Guncellin dem Schachlehrer von 1011 Schachfiguren als Wildtiere wie Hirsch, Hase und andere

Schach Musical

Als Ströbeck 2006 Gastgeber für die » Kulturdörfer  Europas war, wirkten über 100 Ströbecker und Freunde in dem zweistündigen Musical „Ströpker Zeitsprünge“ mit, in dem die Ströbecker Schachgeschichte erzählt wurde. Auch im Jubiläumsjahr “1000 Jahre Schach” 2011 beteiligten sich wieder unzählige Ströbecker an dem Musical Guncellin 2011 – So könnte es gewesen sein“, das erneut die Schachgeschichte zum Gegenstand hatte. Für diese Theaterstücke beauftragte die Gemeinde den Autor Jürgen Westphal und den Komponisten Christoph Zwiener.

Schachmuseum

Im Schachmuseum werden viele Zeugnisse der Ströbecker Schachtradition und Schachgeschichte ausgestellt, wie das Kurfürstenbrett von 1651, Kostüme des Lebendschachensembles oder der Brief des Preußenkönigs von 1861. Gezeigt werden auch die internationale Schachgeschichte, unterschiedliche Schachspiele verschiedener Völker, Kunst und Schach, Schachvarianten zum Ausprobieren sowie jährlich wechselnde Sonderausstellungen.
Musicalszene: Bischof von Halberstadt in Ströbeck MENÜ TEILEN  English Ströbecker Schachtradition  seit 2016